Chickpea Orzo Soup

Posted on

Chickpea Orzo School

When I mentioned to hubby that I would be making a soup involving chickpea, he didn’t seem to enthusiastic with the idea. At first, I was taken aback by his attitude considering that I made a stew with chickpeas in which he devoured before. He later explained to me that he visualized a hummus-like soup which didn’t seem appetizing to him (truth be told, I feel my stomach dropping with just the thought of a hummus soup). I reassured him that hummus is not one of the ingredients in the soup. To my utter surprise, hubby licked his soup bowl clean after having 3 servings of this soup. I don’t blame him either.  Chickpeas are not limited to hummus as my lovable hubby is beginning to realize. I often use chickpeas in stews instead of beans as they are more digestible to me.  I mused about making minestrone using chickpeas instead of white or red kidney beans. I wonder if the nuances in the ingredients would dramatically change the dynamic of the soup. I don’t believe it would alter the flavors in any way.  This Middle Eastern spiced lemony soup contains an abundant amount of flavors. This chickpea orzo soup is very hearty, nutritious, and filling – perfect for a cold dreary winter evening. Serve a hot bowl full of this spicy chickpea orzo soup with a piece of toasted whole wheat pita and some fresh salad. If you have misgivings, I implore you to at least give this recipe a chance.  It’s hard to go wrong with this soup. The only disappointment you’ll have is with me not sharing this recipe with you soon enough. If hubby gave me permission to make this soup again, you are most likely to enjoy it as much as we both did 🙂

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  2. 1 medium onion diced
  3. 3 cloves of garlic minced
  4. 1 small jalapeno pepper minced
  5. 1 teaspoon of ground cumin
  6. 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  7. 1/2 teaspoon of coriander
  8.   1/4 teaspoon of paprika
  9. 1 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes (preferably with low sodium content)
  10. 1 15 oz. can of chickpeas rinsed or 1 cup of cooked chickpeas
  11. 6 cups of reduced sodium vegetable broth
  12. 1 cup of whole wheat orzo (if you can find any)
  13. 3 cups of fresh spinach or kale stemmed
  14. Juice of one lemon

Instructions

In a large soup pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions, jalapeno pepper and garlic and cook for several minutes, stirring occasionally. When the onions are cooked through, add the cumin, cinnamon, paprika and coriander and cook for a minute more. Add the tomatoes, chickpeas, 6 cups of  vegetable broth and stir. Bring the soup to a boil, reduce heat to low, and cover. Simmer for 10 minutes. Then add the orzo and continue simmering for another 15 minutes. As the soup cooks, add additional water as you see fit. Once the orzo is fully cooked, remove from heat and stir in the spinach or kale and lemon. Cover and let sit for 5 minutes so the spinach wilts. Serve hot.

Yields 8 servings

Leave a Reply

