Spiced Poached Asian Pears

Posted on Updated on

poachd pears

Sometimes I don’t always want to listen. Sometimes I don’t feel like being obedient. Sometimes, I would rather contradict the laws of nature and run wild. Sometimes, I don’t always want to control my impulses and cut my inhibitions loose.   After all, rules rules were established for the sole purpose of being broken. If there are no rules to follow, there is none to break. While sometimes facing the consequences may be worth the risks we take, good behavior is the safest resort.  Although I believe I have been programmed to challenge authority (not doing so would be supernatural of me as despicable as it may seem), there are boundaries that I know better than to cross. Cheating on my diet and physically slacking off is one of them. I try to discipline myself  but I am sometimes overcome by sheer laziness. Images of my overweight teenage self motivates me to exhibit self control apart from serving as rude reminder of how much I hated my physical appearance. I seldom eat more than I should but I make sure that my gluttony is reimbursed with exercise. I compromise a heavy meal with a light dessert. I am willing to sacrifice a chocolaty dessert for one week. Some people may think of me as being frugal. My “stinginess” is sometimes justified. When you are investing a lot of time, energy, and power making a heavy meal for a lot of people, a light dessert such as poached pears seems ideal and practical. Besides, most people I know are not always able to stomach a rich dessert. Poached pears was the perfect solution. Even my friend’s toddler devoured them despite the fact that they were sugar-free. I don’t normally eat poached fruit. The canned fruit is loaded with sugar, syrup, and artificial flavorings. That is why I would often turn down compote unless its homemade.  I used Asian pears as I thought it would add an interesting dynamic.  While these poached Asian pears are a great lighter alternative to heavy desserts, their strong flavor profile will even satisfy the most discerning sweet tooth. Infused in blood orange juice and white wine, this spiced poached Asian pear recipe  is a perfect dessert option for cold winter nights or as an elegant luncheon dish.  Truly decadent but not as caloric, this recipe maximizes the natural sweetness of the Asian pear, combining it with a fruit-forward white wine and highlighting both with a touch of cinnamon, ginger, whole cloves and all-spice. Serve with low-fat vanilla ice cream. Reserve the poaching liquid for cocktails if you are feeling naughty ;-). Certain urges can’t always be fought.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 4-6 Asian pears peeled and cored
  2. 1 1/2 cup of white wine
  3. 2-3 blood oranges juiced
  4. 1 cup of water
  5. 1 cinnamon stick
  6. 2 inch’ piece of fresh ginger peeled
  7. All-spice
  8. Whole cloves

Instructions

Place cinnamon stick, ginger, all-spice, and whole cloves in a cheesecloth. Tie ends together and place them in a saucepan along with the wine, orange juice, and water. Bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and add pears (if you can’t fit all the pears in at once, cut them up into slices). Cook pears for 10-20 minutes or until tender. Remove pears from the blood orange wine mixture and boil the liquid until it has been reduced by a half. Pour over pears and serve with ice cream or low fat vanilla/plain yogurt. If not serving immediately, transfer liquid in a container once cooled and store pears in there.

Yields 4 servings

 

 

Leave a Reply

