Irish Stew

Posted on

Irish Stew

I know have this annoying habit of gushing over my kitchen appliances but I can’t help but marvel the convenience of owning my a crock pot. To say that my crock pot is one of my prized possessions would be a bit dramatic of me. It indeed is a time saver and a stress reliever for me . I simply dump all the contents in this slow cooker and let it work it’s magic. I am not trying to be lazy or always look for a shortcut. Sometimes, I can’t muster the energy to whip up a swanky 5 course meal.  Stew is usually the perfect solution for me. I try not to let crock pot meals become a regular habit but I like to end a week or a day on a stress-free note.  I love cooking but I have a time budget. That is where Irish stew comes in. Irish stew has always been in the makings for me. Shortly after I announced that I was going to be making and serving this stew, I have been inundate with recipe requests.  Suffice to say, this Irish stew recipe was more than just a hit. Sadly, I miscalculated the number of ingredients I’ve used and didn’t have enough to serve a household of 7 people seconds. If you are looking for something comforting, this Emerald Isle stew is perfect for a cold and murky winter night.  Traditionally, Irish stew is normally made with lamb.  Apart from lamb being astronomically expensive, it has higher fat content than beef chuck so I opted for Goulash meat. Not to cast stereotype nor judgement on the Irish, I used beer which amplified the flavors in this hearty stew. You can use dry red wine as well if you decide to. If you have unexpected company, just toss in more vegetable as needed. Easy to make with hassle-free prepping, this nutritious and filling Irish stew recipe provides protein, carbs and ample amount of fiber in one bowl of hearty goodness.  The aroma is absolutely tantalizing when the stew is cooking. I made this stew overnight and had to fight the urge to have a bowlful the very next morning when I woke up. Serve this stew over a bowl of steamed wholegrain rice. If you are not a fan of the crock pot, this recipe can  be easily converted to oven or stove-top methods.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 lbs of cubed goulash beef
  2. 4-6 medium red potatoes peeled and quartered
  3. 4 carrots peeled and cut into chunks
  4. 2 large celery stalks chopped
  5. 1 onion chopped
  6. 2 cloves of garlic minced
  7. 12 sprigs of fresh thyme
  8. 12 once can or bottle of your favorite beer
  9. 2 cups + 1 tablespoon of water
  10. 1 tablespoon of cornstarch
  11. Fresh parsley chopped
  12. Salt and fresh ground pepper for taste

Instructions

Sprinkle goulash with salt and pepper. Place beef in crock pot along with vegetables, thyme, water and beer. Cover and cook low for 8 hours or high for 6 hours. During the last hour before serving, dissolve the cornstarch in cold water and then stir into the stew. Simmer on high for a few minutes to thicken. Sprinkle chopped fresh parsley ans serve hot.

Yields 6 to 8 servings

 

 

2 thoughts on “Irish Stew

    Mr Fitz said:
    January 30, 2014 at 8:42 am

    Nothing beats a great stew!

      challahmaidel responded:
      January 30, 2014 at 12:43 pm

      I couldn’t agree with you more 🙂

Leave a Reply

