Tex-Mex Omelette Breakfast Burrito

Posted on

Burrito Omlette

Despite the fact that this dish is a breakfast burrito, I had this omelette for lunch.  It was one of the most scrumptious lip smacking lunches I’ve ever had in a while. And very filling too. It’s been 4 hours and the hungry pangs haven’t resumed yet. I generally try to avoid anything heavy with cheese, sodium, and carbohydrates even though I crave for them from time to time. I needed a break from my regular salad lunch routine and decided to pamper myself just a bit.  So I made myself an Tex Mex style omelette breakfast burrito, something I have been meaning to make and perfect for a while.  They would often fall apart in my attempt to make them. This round, I was satisfied with the results I achieved. After meeting my once a month egg quota, I may make this burrito omelette again next month but I may add more vegetables. 

As someone who is originally from Upstate New York, I have a ridiculous affinity to spicy (and Asian) food. I may not be an expert in Tex Mex cuisines as someone from the southern western region in America but I do appreciate a good home cooked Tex Mex meal. Unfortunately, there aren’t any decent Mexican/Latin restaurants where I live. Most of the Mexican/Latin condiments are imported and obscenely expensive. That is partially the reason why I prefer to make my own salsa. I also make taco shells from tortilla wraps, a brilliant idea a friend suggested to me. I bake them rather than deep frying them of course.

While omelettes are easy to prepare, I am ashamed to admit that I sometimes struggle with getting the right consistency. Sometimes a plain omelette is not enough for me.  I took peppers and tomatoes from the salad I was suppose to have for lunch and used them in my omelette along with some mushrooms. I also used a chili pepper that I was reserving for dinner later on in the week to liven up my omelette a bit. You can embellish your omelette breakfast burrito to your heart’s content with whatever additional ingredients you like. I would have included eggplant in there as well but didn’t have any. I used avocado instead. Although this is a breakfast burrito recipe, I intentionally did not include a tortilla wrap for a low-carb meal.  You can layer a whole wheat flour tortilla wrap the way you would for any burrito if you like. This recipe yields one omelette breakfast burrito but you can multiply the ingredients to make more.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 eggs
  2. 2 tablespoons of olive oil divided
  3. 1 medium onion diced
  4. 1 clove of garlic minced
  5. 1 small chili pepper chopped
  6. 2 ripe tomatoes diced
  7. 1/2 cup of chopped mushrooms
  8. 1 bell pepper chopped
  9. 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh cilantro or parsley
  10. 1 ripe avocado sliced (optional)
  11. Salt and pepper for taste
  12. Grated reduced fat cheddar cheese (optional)

Instructions

Heat one tablespoon of olive oil in a large skillet. Saute vegetables for a couple of minutes or until soft. Remove vegetables from skillet and set aside. Add another tablespoon of olive oil to the skillet. Whisk two eggs in a bowl. Pour eggs into skillet and spread with a spatula. When cooked enough, carefully flip it over and sprinkle with cheese, salt, and pepper. Remove omelette from heat. Place avocado and 1/3 cup of the sauteed vegetables down the middle. Season with fresh cilantro. Roll up and cut in half.

Yields 2 servings

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

