Healthy Butterscotch Brownies

Posted on

butterscotch brownies

Last week, I had a hankering for brownies. I normally make them on a weekly basis as they are easy and I always have the ingredients in my pantry.  But I wasn’t in the mood for a regular chocolate brownie. I’ve made brownies in many variations before. A couple years ago, I made a two layer beer brownies in the honor of Saint Patricks Day. Someone mentioned to me about making butterscotch brownies and I has an inspiration to create my own healthy version. Some say that butterscotch brownies and blondies are one of the same. Unless someone can explain the difference to me, I will take their word for it.  As long as they taste good and have the chewy texture that I yearn for in a brownie, it doesn’t make the slightest difference to me. This butterscotch brownie recipe is different from the blondie and brownie recipe you are familiar with. Can you note the difference? I will give you a hint. The ingredients do not consist of cocoa powder, sugar, margarine, and eggs. You guesses it! They are sugar-free and completely vegan. I used carob powder in lieu of cocoa powder. Hubby claimed that they can pass for protein bars. Perhaps I should have called this recipe Butterscotch Protein Brownies Bars. Aside for being healthier than your typical butterscotch brownie recipe, they  are dangerously delicious and  remarkably fast and easy to pull together. One bowl plus one pan equals  one magical dessert. Chewy, sweet, and addictive, they would be an amazing base for some mix ins but I am a purist (or at least I aspire to be one anyways). Most people in the Free World will still insist that they are Blondies, in this case, carob brownies. As I reiterated before, I don’t care. Perhaps the recipe search would have been easier but my brownie clouded brain was a bit delayed on the uptake. If you want to call them Blondies, at least call them Healthy Blondies.  In any case, I urge you to try  this rich and delicious butterscotch brownie recipe. It’s quick and easy, and your family will beg for more.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 cups of all-purpose flour or spelt flour
  2. 1/2 cup of carob powder
  3. 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  4. 1 cup honey, agave nectar or splenda
  5. 1 cup of cooked white beans or chickpeas (you can use canned beans as well)
  6. 1/4 cup of canola oil
  7. 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  8. 1 cup of chopped cashews, walnuts, or bittersweet chocolate chips (optional)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a shallow bowl, combine flour, salt, and carob powder. Puree beans in a food processor till smooth. Add honey, oil, and vanilla extract. Mix wet ingredients with the dry ingredients. Fold in nuts or chocolate chips. Spread into a greased 13×9″ pan. Bake at 350 degrees F. for  25-27 minutes. Then cool on wire rack and cut into squares.

Yields 36 brownies

 

Leave a Reply

