Oven-Baked Tortilla Chips

Posted on Updated on

Tortilla Chips

Like many things, good quality American corn chips are very difficult to come across. I suppose it’s for the best considering what a compulsive nosher I sometimes tend to be. Sometimes, my husband would bring home a large bagful of corn chips and they normally don’t last longer than 30 minutes. There is a logic behind the phrase “out of sight, out of mind”. Chips are no exception. A dip would have been a catalyst to my noshing. Luckily, there wasn’t any in sight.  I suppose the pathway to moderation is not buying nor making anything that I will be eating excessively.I have gotten into a habit of making my own snack food and making homemade tortilla chips was a bypassing thought which has subsequently come to fruition. The process itself has been proven to be satisfying in so many levels.  The end result is absolutely superior to the commercial brands in both taste and texture.  Although they are healthier than store-bought chips as they don’t contain hidden unhealthy oils nor artificial ingredients, they are dangerously addictive. Hubby can corroborate this fact.  Therefore, I don’t recommend you make them often or you will be burning through a lot of money and electricity baking these tortilla chips. That is why I made 16 chips at a time. If I didn’t care about my waistline at all, I would be going on a tortilla chip binge. Luckily for me, that inner voice telling me to exhibit some self-control is still vocal by in large. I don’t want to have to answer to my scale later.

There are three staples that I normally have on hand – tortilla chips, oil, and blended spices to create taco seasoning. These are all the ingredients you need to This is all you need to make the most wonderful, fresh, crunchy, perfectly golden, homemade tortilla chips. You don’t need oil if you are cooking light. I tend to bake my tortilla chips with just the thinnest coating of oil, so the resulting chip bakes up satisfyingly crisp with a very slight chew and not at all greasy. These home-baked low carb tortilla chips comes through strong and clear, not at all like the salt-lick flavor of most commercial chips. While deep frying in oil produces the most flavorful chips, this tortilla chip recipe is perfect for cutting back on the calories. Once you’ve tried this recipe, your fond moments of eating Doritos will be nothing but a blurred memory. Eat that, Time Machine Superbowl commercial!!

Anyhow, I have a different approach to eating these oven-baked chips. Rather than compulsively scarfing them, I’m more apt to eating these chips slowly to not only savor every bite. Their slight chewiness makes it easier for me to pay more attention while snacking on them. And because they are homemade and oven-baked, they are more of a treat to me that I very much enjoy. You can use corn tortilla wraps or wheat tortilla wraps. To create a more healthful snack food, I used whole wheat tortilla chips. This recipe is incredibly easy and certainly less messy than frying tortilla chips. These homemade low carb tortilla chips are also an excellent way to use up slightly stale tortillas.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 tortilla wraps
  2. 4 tablespoons of canola or grapeseed oil
  3. 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder
  4. 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
  5. 1/3 teaspoon of cumin
  6. 1/4 teaspoon of turmeric
  7. 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  8. Salt and pepper for taste

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lay parchment paper over a baking tray. Cut each tortilla wrap into 8 wedges. In a small bowl, whisk oil with spices until well blended. Lightly brush each chip with spiced oil. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Be aware that very thin tortillas are vulnerable to your oven’s hot spots and can start to char. The chips are done when the edges are crisp and dry and slightly lifted from the tray. They should be a few shades darker, though not completely browned.  Remove trays from the oven and let cool slightly. As they cool, the chips will continue to crisp all the way through.

Yields 16 tortilla chips

3 thoughts on “Oven-Baked Tortilla Chips

    Mr Fitz said:
    February 10, 2014 at 8:06 am

    brilliant! Thanks for sharing.. i have been thinking of ways to make better tortilla chips than the ones sold in store.. it was the seasoning i needed.. cool

      challahmaidel responded:
      February 10, 2014 at 1:24 pm

      Glad to hear! Anything homemade presumably tastes better mainly because the flavors are more natural and I loathe artificial flavorings in snack foods and treats. Plus the sodium content in these commercial brand chips are astronomical. I am trying to monitor the amount of salt I consume as high blood pressure runs in my family.

        Mr Fitz said:
        February 10, 2014 at 2:44 pm

        Sometimes its those bad bits that make it so so god!! hahah

Leave a Reply

