Homemade Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Posted on Updated on

peanut butter cups

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are one of my favorite Hershey confections. I enjoy the balance of flavors between the sweetness from the chocolate and the moderately savoriness from the peanut butter. I generally love the combination of chocolate and peanut butter.  Shortly after I discovered my new love for this candy, I have been trying to replicate this treat in many different ways. I made peanut butter mousse pie with a ganache topping. I baked a batch of peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.  I have no doubt that you can come up with many different ways to utilize peanut butter and chocolate in which I encourage you not to be shy to lend some of your ideas.

While I enjoy Reese’s peanut butter cups, it never occurred to me to make my very own from scratch.   I suppose I didn’t see the point of doing so. I was only recently possessed to make my own batch of chocolate peanut butter cups after being told how shockingly easy they are to make.  With only 5 ingredients, you won’t notice the difference between homemade chocolate peanut butter cups and the commercial brand. The only difference I detected is that the homemade version tastes a lot better as well as being healthier.  I was anticipating a hot mess in my kitchen. Oh, I nearly forgot to mention that they don’t require any baking as well. Mind you, most no-bake treats are time savers and practically hassle-free.

I admit to hyperventilating a bit when trying something new. Mind you, my decoration and presentation skills are still a little clumsy but have been improving with much diligence, practice, and patience.   It was worth the effort.  I only wished I thought about making my favorite Hershey’s treat a long time ago. Ever since after making my first batch, I won’t be hunting for a pack of Hershey’s Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups anytime soon.  Not only are these delightful treats vegan and gluten-free but they are sugar-free as well. They also freeze well. In fact, I prefer them frozen.

At first, the ratio between the chocolate and peanut butter filling was off. I had more peanut butter filling than chocolate. I ended up making peanut butter chocolate cups as well. If you have a peanut allergy or don’t like peanut butter, you can use hazelnut butter or almond butter. You can even try this recipe using flax seed butter if you have a nut allergy altogether. I’ve heard people using pumpkin filling in lieu of nut butters. Use whatever works for you.  I try my utmost to consider everyone’s dietary restrictions and food allergies which is why I tend to offer alternatives when I can think of any. Everyone should be able to indulge once in a while. Speaking of which, I look forward to an upcoming chocolate festival this Thursday.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 cup of natural peanut butter
  2. 2 tablespoons of honey, maple syrup or agave nectar
  3. 1/3 cup of canola or coconut oil melted + 2 tablespoons
  4. 1/2 cup of  unsweetened cocoa powder
  5. 1/4 cup of (vegan) bittersweet chocolate chips

Instructions for the chocolate topping and base

Melt chocolate chips  with 1/3 cup of oil, 1 tablespoon of honey, and cocoa powder.  Mix well till smooth and combined.

Instructions for the peanut butter filling

Combine peanut butter, 2 tablespoons of coconut oil and  1 tablespoon of agave nectar  in a bowl and stir until the ingredients are well mixed.

Place 1 teaspoon of chocolate in each muffin cup. Layer with 1/2 teaspoon of peanut butter mixture. Top with another teaspoon of chocolate. Repeat the same process through each muffin cup.  Freeze for 15-20 minutes before serving.

Yields approximately 10 – 12 peanut butter cups if using standard sized muffin cups

Leave a Reply

