Roasted Onion Garlic Dip

Posted on Updated on

onion garlic dip

 

I have a confession to make. I plead guilty of rarely using recipes more than once. It’s not just the results were unsatisfactory the first round. Despite the raves and compliments I receive from family members, friends, and guests about a homemade dip, it doesn’t always occur to me to make it again. It is a  constant race to provide new, fun, exciting, creative content for the readers whilst leaving me little time to revisit the recipes that I enjoy the most. Of course, there will  always be a few recipes that I will share all the time, for the rest of  my life even if it means missing an opportunity to create a new post. I suppose that could also mean that I need to learn to budget my time better and prioritize more effectively. Thankfully, I am sometimes able to spare a few moments for myself before duty hollers  for my attention again.  I am gradually making progress with my time management skills. At the moment, I am putting everything on hold to share my roasted onion garlic dip with you. It is a recipe not to be procrastinated for any longer than it already has been.

Additive, creamy, delicious,and low fat, I have always wanted to make roasted onion garlic dip without using packaged onion soup mix. I am not so keen with the preservatives embedded in these soup mixes. I was targeting for more natural flavors which is how I highly prefer it. After endlessly searching for various recipes, I decided to create an adaption to my liking. This roasted onion garlic dip is a simple recipe consisting of only a few ingredients. While the preparation is easy, the flavors to take some time to develop as you will need to roast the garlic and caramelize the onion.  While the cooking  and prep time estimates to 45 minutes, the result is worth the wait. I recommend serving this dip with vehicles that are more on the little salty side to counteract  the sweetness of the onions and garlic that are in the dip such as bagel chips, tortilla chips, and even pita chips. Cut up raw vegetables would also be a perfect accompaniment to this dip.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 onion finely chopped
  2. 1 head of garlic
  3. 3 tablespoons of olive oil divided
  4. 8 0z of low fat cream cheese of your choice (I used non dairy cream cheese)
  5. 1/4 cup of low fat sour cream or mayonnaise
  6. 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce
  7. 1 teaspoon of dried basil
  8. Salt and pepper for taste

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut the top off of the garlic bulb, drizzle with 1 tablespoon of oil, wrap in foil. Roast garlic for 35 minutes. In the meantime, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a skillet. Saute onion till caramelized. Add Worcestershire sauce once onions start to get sticky.  Once onions are caramelized, set aside.  Place cream cheese and sour cream in a food processor. Add onions. Squeeze out garlic cloves and add it to the mixture. Add basil, salt, and pepper. Process till well blended. Serve immediately or cover and refrigerate until needed.

Yields  approximately 1 1/2 cups

Leave a Reply

