Un-American Apple Pie

Posted on

apple pie

Some of you may be intrigued by the title I chose for this uniquely healthy apple pie recipe. Before you out my patriotism into question towards my homeland, I would like to clarify a few details with you regarding my loyalty towards America. I am proud of the country I hail from despite some minor details that irk me. Living overseas doesn’t make me a traitor the last time I checked. Above all, un-American and anti-American are not the same thing. Allow me to further explain to you what I mean by that. Apple pie is a classic American dessert. From the scrumptious apple filling to the flaky pastry crust, it is an American favorite. In fact, you can find this popular dessert  in some form on most restaurant menus, in bakeries, in the bakery and freezer section of grocery stores. Most home bakers claim to have a secret recipe for their own “best” apple pie. Most people won’t refute the fact that the flavors of apple pie are at their best when homemade. I do admit being biased towards homemade desserts and treats; then again, so are most people. While some people  like their slice of apple pie served plain, others prefer it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, a dollop of softly whipped cream, or with a generous slice of sharp cheddar cheese. However, it’s goodness is reimbursed by the excess amount of sugar, butter, and calories embedded in each slice. The ingredient I use are very un-American unlike the classic version with a buttery pie crust and sugary apple filling.

I suppose you can refer this recipe as crumpled apple pie if the title bothers you. I am not aiming to ruffle some feathers. I am merely trying to introduce you to a healthier version that I recreated. I normally try to create a healthy adaptation of original dishes and desserts without compromising on the flavors. Apple pie is no exception. I substituted the flaky pie crust for a low-fat graham cracker pie crust I created.  The apple filling I made is not nearly as sugary. In fact, is has no sugar at all. I used a bit of honey which adds a sweet twist without ruining your diet. I also jazzed up the flavors of the filling with a bit of fresh minced ginger.  Not only was this the healthiest apple pie I ever made but it was the easiest apple pie I ever made as well. Creamy and fruity, this healthy apple pie recipe sweet pie is guaranteed to elicit raves from family and friends.  Enjoy this classic (un) American holiday dessert without the extra calories. Serve hot with a scoop of low fat frozen yogurt or sour cream.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 1/2 to 3 cups of pulverized graham crackers
  2. 1/3 cup of margarine
  3. 2 tablespoons of brown sugar or stevia
  4. 1/2 cup of ground walnuts (you can use whole wheat or spelt flour if you have a nut allergy)
  5. 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  6. 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  7. 2 cups of granny smith apples peeled and cored
  8. 2 cups of gala apples peeled and cored
  9. 2 cups of McIntosh apples peeled and cored
  10. 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice
  11. 1 teaspoon of fresh minced ginger
  12. 1/4 cup of honey or agave nectar
  13. 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  14. 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg
  15. 1 teaspoon of vanilla

Instructions for pie crust

Preheat oven to 350°F. Pulse graham crackers, ground walnuts, sugar, margarine, rolled oats, and salt into a food processor and process till coarse like and crumbly. Divide  mixture in half. Spread first half into an 9-inch pie dish, flattening it to an even thickness all around. Use a bit more if you need to. You can press it down with another pie dish if you have one.  Bake for 10 minutes and allow to cool fully before filling.

Apple pie filling

Place sliced apples in a Dutch oven. Add the remaining ingredients to the pot and cook over medium heat for 10 minutes or until tender. Leave the oven temperature at 350 degrees. Add apples to prepared pie crust. Top with the remaining half of the pie crust. Bake for 30-40 minutes. Let rest 20 minutes before slicing.

Yields 8-10 servings

Leave a Reply

