Radish Squash Soup

Posted on Updated on

2014-02-18 08.36.52

Ever gone through a mid afternoon slump? Know what depleted of any strength and emotion to finish your day? Have you wanted to call it a day early and spend the rest of the noon doing practically nothing? That describes me in a nutshell around 3 pm. It’s not even 3 in the noon yet and I already feel I’ve hit the slump. I wish I were granted with an endless supply of energy without relying on sugar and caffeine to combat my noon fatigue. Not only am I trying to fight to stay awake, I am also suppressing my urge to snack. Keeping my eyelids from closing is challenging enough as it is. Before you start, I have been taking my vitamins regularly and avoiding food laced with sugar as much as I possibly can. I also have been eating right so I can’t think of a logical explanation to my lethargy. It doesn’t help matters that the office insists on running the heater on full blast.  I rather be a bit chilly as I can wear as many layers as needed to keep me insulated.

Thankfully I h ave managed to reserve a bit of energy to share this radish squash soup recipe with y’all. I don’t eat radishes on a regularly. One of the things that excite me the most about making vegetable soup is taking a humble vegetable like a radish and turning it into something exquisite. A creamy radish squash soup was ideal. Most of us are very familiar with the cheerful little bulbs for better or for worse. Round bright red, or white, radishes are plentiful all year round and can be located on the shelves of every grocery store.  Popular in Germany, these root vegetables are mostly eaten raw, in salads or on their own; their leafy tops are usually discarded afterwards.  Radishes are a low carb and a less starchy alternative to potatoes. I used white summer radishes for this soup. If you don’t like radishes, turnips also work well for this recipe. Speaking of bulbs, an idea just lit up in my head for a chilled yogurt radish soup. But that will have to wait till the weather heats up a bit. Or will it? Knowing me, you can expect to find a recipe featured on this blog a bit sooner than that :-). I don’t always find inspiration within a recipe in process of publication; when I do, it’s quasi-comical.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  2. 1 onion chopped
  3. 1 clove of garlic minced
  4. 1 lbs of radishes cut into chunks (I used white radishes)
  5. 1/2 lbs of any winter squash of your choice (I sneaked in some pumpkin)
  6. 2 zucchinis chopped
  7. 1/3 teaspoon of nutmeg
  8. 5 cups of vegetable broth
  9. Salt and pepper for taste

Instructions

Heat a large heavy-bottomed soup pot at medium-high heat. Add the olive oil, onion, and garlic, stir well and saute for 2 to 3 minutes until softened, stirring from time to time.  Then add the vegetables, salt pepper, nutmeg, and vegetable broth.   Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium to medium-low, cover the pot and slow-simmer for 20 minutes or until vegetables are tender. purée the soup with a stick blender or food processor until silky smooth. Taste and adjust the seasoning if needed and serve.

Yields 4 servings

Leave a Reply

