Gluten-Free Pesto Rolls

Posted on

IMG_20140225_073156

I never had much luck when it came to making gluten-free bread. I suppose it is primarily due to a lack of practice. The first time I attempted to make them was using packaged gluten-free bread flour and following the recipe imprinted on the bag. Vilely inedible doesn’t begin to describe the end results of this bread. It was even an insult to celiacs. I am an amateur but disasters like these are inexcusable. I suppose I was thankful that I didn’t have anyone over to share this disgrace for a gluten-free bread with. Otherwise, I would have never been able to have lived it down. Nature was more than grateful for covering up my mistakes. Hubby made me vow to never bake this bread using this particular brand ever again. Well, it was a mutual decision. The bread mix has proven to be a complete dud. That experience was a bit discouraging but I wanted to further hone my gluten-free baking abilities. Given my inborn stubbornly persistent nature, I couldn’t just call it  quits yet.  I do need more practice though and I have been relentlessly trying. Plus I am trying to limit my intake of gluten as part of my detox so I am been searching for viable gluten-free alternatives as well. I have several friends who suffer from celiac disease and I don’t want to be caught with my pants down and not have anything to feed them with when hosting them aside for salad and meat.

I have been on a quest to search for a gluten-free bread/rolls recipe that work best for me. I asked for suggestions and recommendations from my friends who are celiac. I had a kilo of quinoa flour, rice flour, and tapioca flour sitting in my pantry. I initially thought about making a gluten-free pizza crust but decided on rolls at the last minute. I wanted to take baby steps and make sure that my gluten-free rolls were a success before venturing  on to more challenging ideas. The most common complaint I heard from people who have eaten gluten-free bread is that its dry and lacking of flavor. I mixed in some pesto that I made on the whim. You can mix in roasted garlic, onion, and sun-dried tomatoes if you like. Hoping for the best but expecting the worst, the rolls were a successful turnout. Even hubby encouraged me to make them again. Now I know what to prepare when I next expect guests with celiac disease.  I hope you enjoy this gluten-free roll recipe as we did. I look forward to sharing more gluten-free bread recipes with you. Feel free to suggest some gluten-free ideas to me. What are some of your favorite gluten-free bread recipes?

 

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 tablespoons of active dry yeast
  2. 2 teaspoons of sugar
  3. 2 cups of warm water or milk of your choice
  4. 1 1/2 cup of quinoa flour
  5. 1/2 cup of brown rice flour
  6. 3/4 cup of potato starch
  7. 1/2 cup of tapioca flour
  8. 3 teaspoons xanthan gum
  9. 1 teaspoon of kosher or sea salt
  10. 1 tablespoon of baking powder
  11. 2 tablespoons of Earth Balance butter melted
  12. 1/3 cup of pesto
  13. 2 eggs
  14. 1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar

Instructions

Combine the yeast, sugar and warmed milk in a small bowl and whisk to dissolve the sugar. Let sit for 6 – 8 minutes or until the mixture is foamy and had increased in volume. Combine the flours, starches (or all-purpose gluten free flour blend), xanthan gum, salt and baking powder in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Mix for 30 seconds on medium-low to combine and break up any lumps in the potato starch. Add the yeast mixture, 1  egg, melted butter substitute, pesto and vinegar. Mix on medium low until combined. Scrap down the sides of the bowl, turn the mixer on high and mix for 3 minutes. You should have a very thick, smooth batter.

Brush 2 standard muffin pans with melted butter (or butter substitute) or spray with gluten free, non-stick cooking spray. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin pans, filling about ¾ full. Alternately you can use an ice cream scoop and place 3 scoops in each muffin tin. Cover with a clean kitchen towel and place in a warm, draft free place to rise. Let rise for 35 minutes or until the dough has almost doubled in size.

Beat the remaining egg with 1 teaspoon of water very well with a fork. Gently brush the tops of each roll with the beaten egg.

Bake for 17 – 18 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool in the pans for 15 minutes.

The rolls can be made ahead – bake them, let them cool in the pans, wrap with plastic wrap and refrigerate for up to 2 days. Warm for a few minutes in a 350 degree oven.

Yields 24 rolls

 

 

2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Pesto Rolls

    Charisma said:
    March 4, 2014 at 5:13 pm

    Mm love that they are gluten free, they look tasty!

      challahmaidel responded:
      March 4, 2014 at 6:51 pm

      Thanks! I am always open to gluten-free ideas besides salads, soups, and sauces.

Leave a Reply

