Avocado Mayonnaise

Posted on

2014-03-04 15.36.44

My hat goes off to my father in-law for the inspiration behind this recipe. I never particularly cared for mayonnaise. To me, it was a vegetarian alternative to sour cream. When I found out that mayonnaise is made from raw eggs, I have been using it as sparingly as possible. I have been searching for vegan versions but the recipes seemed too complicated for me to follow. Plus I made a huge mess in the process of making homemade mayonnaise.  I don’t exactly recall how mayonnaise came up in the conversation but my father in-law and I were talking about various condiments that pair with fish.  Not much of a fan of mayonnaise himself, he makes his own avocado spread that tastes just like mayonnaise without eggs or soy. I tried his idea and it was a success.

Most vegan mayonnaise involves pureeing tofu with some vinegar and salt. While it may appear to look a bit like pale mayonnaise, it takes a stretch of the imagination to taste anything other than seasoned tofu. Typically these vegan versions tend to lack richness, umami and color and inevitably have that vaguely astringent tofu taste. I don’t fancy tofu for that matter either.

In case of an authentic mayonnaise, egg yolks generally serve as the emulsifier. They contain lecithin, a compound which gives it its super power of combining oil and water. But eggs aren’t the only food that contain lecithin. Soybeans also provide an abundant source of lecithin as well. By using soy milk as an emulsifier,  I was almost certain that I would be able to make a vegan mayonnaise that was rich, creamy and flavorful. My first attempt didn’t was a failure at it’s best. A one to one substitution of egg yolk to soy milk did not provide enough lecithin which resulted an oily mess. For batches 2-4 I tested different ratios and finally found a quantity of soy milk that would create a smooth creamy emulsion

My father in-law’s version is just as  mild, creamy, and delicious. As usual, I have listed quantities as a guide only. I tend to add in the lemon juice, vinegar,  mustard, and ground pepper at the end, and keep tasting in between each addition. Every batch yields a mayo of a slightly different personality, depending on my mood, and what I am going to use it for. But the quantities I have provided will keep you on the right track. But sometimes plain and simple condiment is all I really need. After all, good condiments add a touch of something extra to main attraction events without taking over the spotlight. This vegan mayonnaise recipe idea is  fantastic served with veggie burgers, and works  many wonders with felafel and tuna salad. From hereon, I will use this eggless mayonnaise more often if I decide to make a basic, quick coleslaw, or potato salad. If you were hesitant about using mayonnaise before, this raw mayonnaise recipe may convince you otherwise.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 ripe Haas avocados
  2. 1/4 cup of unsweetened soy milk (you can use rice milk for a soy-free version)
  3. 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil
  4. 3 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
  5. 2 teaspoons of mustard
  6. 1 teaspoon of apple vinegar cider
  7. 1/4 teaspoon of paprika
  8. Fresh ground pepper for taste

Instructions

Place all ingredients in a food processor and puree for about a minute until smooth and creamy.

Yields 1 1/3 cup

 

Leave a Reply

