Papaya Kiwi Smoothie

Posted on

2014-02-27 07.48.01

A lot of you may feel that I am overstepping my boundaries when it comes to sharing my papaya recipes. Some of you may think that papaya is an overrated fruit by now. I don’t blame you for feeling that way. I would scream if I saw another papaya recipe but apparently papaya seems underused to me if I am posting my third recipe. If you haven’t figured it out m now, I am hooked on papaya. Yes I eat other fruit as well. If I am not obsessing too much over papaya, then why am I sharing another papaya smoothie recipe with you?  This smoothie recipe has an ingredient that sets it apart from other smoothie recipes. I added some fresh kiwi to the mix. I bought a couple of kiwis without think much about what I would do with them. Kiwis are expensive so I try to be frugal and creative on how I utilize them.  I know a good smoothie when I taste one. I suppose if I post one more smoothie recipe, I may as well create a separate smoothie blog. Papayas make a wonderful addition.  The sourness of kiwis offers a perfect balance. I enjoy the combination of both tropical flavors.

Smoothies are a great way to jumpstart your morning; especially good after a workout or an exercise or a swim. in this smoothie, you will taste a bit of all three fruits. Unless you have a sweet tooth, there is no need to add sugar or any other sweetener while making this smoothie. Aside from using  sweetener,  you can also include naturally sweet dry fruits, such dates or dry figs in the smoothie instead of sugar or honey.  It was already sweet that I didn’t have to add any sugar at all.

Smoothies are a brilliant way to incorporate fruit in your diet.  They can also act as detox for the system. Many health conscious people such as myself  prefer to start their day with fruits. there are variety of ways to easily include fruits in our diet.  As they say, simplicity is beauty and this is exactly how I feel with this 3-ingredient creamy and yummy papaya kiwi banana smoothie! If you have super-ripe and sweet bananas on hand that are either fresh or frozen and kiwis that have ripened so that they are quite sweet too, instead of super-tangy, then combine the two together in a blender and voila – this is what you get – a truly healthy sweet breakfast beverage that is enjoyable and guilt-free!Do yourself a treat and make this smoothie today! After that, I will go on a papaya hiatus for the sake of all our sanity 🙂

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1/2 of a medium sized papaya
  2. 2 ripe kiwis peeled and chopped
  3. 2 ripe bananas
  4. 1/2 cup of low fat milk or yogurt of your choice
  5. 1 cup of crushed ice (optional)

Instructions

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend till smooth.  Add crushed ice if needed.

Yields 3-4 servings

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

