Mackerel Salad

Posted on

2014-03-04 15.49.16

Mackerel is believed to be part of the same family as tuna. The textures are very similar, especially when canned. I am not such a huge for tuna but sometimes I have an unexplainable torturous hankering for a tuna salad. While shopping last week, I initially intended on buying a couple of tuna cans but had a change of mind when I saw smoked mackerel fillets. Most of the fish dishes on my menu planner seem repetitive so a change of pace is always welcomed. I was looking for different lunch ideas and mackerel salad seemed ideal. I simply masked the mackerel fillets with a fork, tossed in some avocado mayonnaise, spiced it up with a bit of chili oil for an extra punch, and seasoned it as usual. I mixed it with some chopped raw vegetables and I was all set for a balanced and nutritious lunch. I reserved the remnants of the mackerel salad for my afternoon snack. Feeding into my lack of inhibition, I had a couple of tortilla chips on hand. I sometimes I have a habit of eating my own words. Out of sight out of mind is my motto but the chips were staring me down. It was hopeless. But it could have been a whole lot worse. Thankfully, junk food in the house doesn’t extend beyond chocolate, homemade popcorn (hubby found an ingenious way to make oil-free popcorn thanks to online sources. I know I rib him too much but he does deserve credit for his ambition), oven-baked tortilla chips, and fruit.

Mackerel  is one of the loveliest, versatile, and tastiest fish around that still remains plentiful. Yet, nearly everyone scorn at this oil-rich fish primarily because it is considered to be pungent, oily, and, well, somewhat fishy. This mackerel salad recipe can be enjoyed in many ways. Serve it over lettuce, grains, cooked diced potatoes, and even over oven-baked chips. All I can say is it doesn’t hurt for you to give it a try.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 cans of smoked mackerel fillets
  2. 1 scallion chopped
  3. 1/4 cup of avocado mayonnaise
  4. 1 teaspoon of chili oil
  5. 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
  6. 1/4 teaspoon of ground pepper

Instructions

Mash mackerel with the back of a fork.  Add the remaining ingredients and mix well till combined. Serve chilled or at room temperature.

Yields 2 servings

 

 

Leave a Reply

