Flax Seed Butter

Posted on

2014-03-19 08.25.23

Is it me or is the week really crawling on it’s knees? I guess that notion may be  indicative of how stressed out I am.  With all the upcoming holidays, making meals for new mothers, and hosting people, there almost never seems to be a moment of relaxation. I suppose I shouldn’t compain. At least I am preoccupied with something. At times, I find myself preferring sheer boredom to stress but within moderation.   Amid my hectic schedule, I was able to buy myself some time to share another recipe with you. I don’t know about most bloggers but I find blogging about my recipe to be just as therapeutic and settling to the mind as I do with yoga. It allows me to focus on the activities I enjoy most.

I was once window shopping at a health food store perusing through some of the items there. I have been making various homemade nut butters as the commercial items tends to be expensive. The item that stood out to me was flax seed butter. I know flax seeds are not nuts but the spread did pique my interest enough to want to make some of my own rather than spending 10 bucks on a small jar. While I did not make the purchase, I was inspired enough to learn how to make flax seed butter for myself which I subsequently did.

Flax seeds, or linseeds, are thought to be one of the most powerful plant foods on the planet to some.  These type of seeds come from flax – one of the oldest fiber crops known to mankind which have been cultivated in ancient Egypt and China.  Apart from being a rich source of healthy fat, antioxidants, fiber, vitamin B1 and omega-3, modern research has also discovered evidence  to suggest that consuming flax seeds regularly may help reduce the risk of heart disease, diabetes, stroke, and cancer. That’s one heck of a tall order for a single seed that’s been around for many centuries, no?  All the better reason to make your own flax seed butter.

Not only will you get your money’s worth but you will benefit from it’s nutrition value as well. I have been gradually replacing margarine with avocado and flax seed butter. If you don’t like flax seeds, however, you can use sunflower seeds or pumpkin seeds instead. Or you can use a little of each. This flax seed butter recipe is perfect for those with nut allergies who want to enjoy a good spread. I don’t always do things by the book.  Results are more important to me.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 cups of flax seeds
  2. 1/4 cup of pumpkin seed, sunflower seed or canola oil
  3. Pinch of salt (optional)
  4. Sweetener such as agave, honey, or brown rice syrup (optional)

Instructions

Place seeds in a grinder and grind each batch of seeds, tapping and scraping contents into a bowl for mixing. If you don’t own a grinder, toast seeds in a skillet over low heat. Stir frequently to prevent burning and remove from heat when fragrant. Once cooled, place flax seeds in a food processor and grind for a minute. Slowly drizzle in oil while the food processor is still running. Continue processing until mixture is smooth and creamy, about 5 minutes. You may need to occasionally turn off the food processor and scrape it down with a spatula. Taste and add salt and sweetener if desired. If the mixture is too dry, add a little more oil, processing until desired consistency is reached. Transfer to an airtight container and store in refrigerator up to 2 weeks.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Flax Seed Butter

    Jacqueline Bartha said:
    July 17, 2016 at 9:09 pm

    How much and what kind of oil do you use? Do you know the calorie content? Thanks!

      challahmaidel responded:
      May 8, 2017 at 8:14 am

      Flax oil is preferable but most oils should work as well.

Leave a Reply

