Chocolate Fudge Quinoa Cookies

Posted on

quinoa cookies

My house has been declared a wheat-flour free zone. Thus far, I managed to accomplish that much from my Passover cleaning. Since children are not in the picture yet, there is not much of a mess in my place that requires intensive and thorough cleaning. Plus we will be spending most of the holiday away by friends and family which does save us quite a bit of  emotional and financial stress.  As I reiterated just a couple of sentences ago, my house is purge of wheat flour but I have quinoa flour among other types gluten-free flour.  Forgetting for the moment that I no longer had gluten flour, I was conquered by  this intense need for chocolate cookies. The hankering was too irresistible to ignore. Noticing that I had quinoa flour on hand, this struck an idea in my head. I only used quinoa flour twice ever since I bought it. Besides gluten-free breads and muffins, I couldn’t think of a better way to use quinoa flour other than for making a batch of cookies; particularly chocolate fudge cookies.  I made gluten-free brownies before and they were a success so why should chocolate quinoa cookies be any different?

Apart from being a novel concept, these gluten-free cookies are ideal Passover dessert ideas as well. Irrelevant to Passover, I have been detoxing from wheat flour and therefore these cookies were perfect. I nearly didn’t miss the gluten version. I’ve learned to adjust without certain ingredients.  But I needed gluten-free dessert/snack ideas that were not limited to fruit and vegetables. I never liked commercial brand gluten-free cookies. They tend to be too airy or too sugary. Regular cookies are not any more delightful.  That is partially the reason why I chose to make my very own batch.  Gluten-free or not, the making of a good cookie solely relies on taste and texture. The flavors need to be balanced. I am more partial towards dense and chewy cookies. And there needs to be a cold glass of milk within my proximity. Those are my stipulations. Otherwise, I am not as fastidious 😉

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 cup of quinoa flour
  2. 1/2 cup of topacia flour
  3. 1/2 cup of cocoa powder
  4. 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  5. 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt
  6. 1/4 teaspoon of  xanthan gum
  7. 2/3 cup of brown sugar or coconut sugar
  8. 1/2 cup of vegan butter softened
  9. 2 teaspoons of tahini or nut butter
  10. 2 egg whites
  11. 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  12. 1 cup of dark chocolate chunks or chocolate chips

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place egg whites and sugar in a food processor and beat for 2 minutes. Add the remaining wet ingredients and mix well till incorporated. In a separate bowl, whisk the dry ingredients together.   Mix dry mixture with wet mixture. Fold in chocolate chunks/chips. Scoop 1 heaping tablespoon of dough onto the cookie sheets, spacing the cookies about 1″ inches apart. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack, allow to cool for 5 minutes before eating (I’m too impatient, especially when cookies like these are screaming out for me).

Yields 24 cookies

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

