Sweet & Spicy Chicken

Posted on

Sweet and Spicy Chicken

While those of us who are celebrating Passover are limited of what we can eat doesn’t mean our menu only consists of potatoes, hard boiled eggs, and chicken soup with matzo balls. True, there weren’t as many Passover friendly items when I was growing up as there is now. Aside for chicken soup and chocolate matzah, I didn’t care for anything else. While many of the Passover friendly items are not accessible where I live, I’ve learned to make my own dishes.  Cooking for Passover was not so challenging for me. Despite the fact that people tend to eat more on holidays and therefore demand recipes that are thematic to the holiday they are celebrating, my menu tends to be more basic and standard. Likewise there are an abundance chicken recipe ideas that are Passover friendly, including the one I borrowed from a spicy honey chicken recipe.

Some people see Passover as a challenge for our culinary abilities and pushes us to our creativity limits. It does put things into perspective by learning to appreciate what we have. Thankfully, I am spending most of the holiday away and therefore there isn’t much for me to prepare. I can’t complain as the household is populated by two adults and we are generally organized. Hopefully sometime soon when kids enter the picture, it won’t be the same. During the week, I have soup and salad like any other week. This sweet and spicy chicken recipe is easy to prepare and the ingredients are accessible all year around.

While the original recipe called for chicken breasts, I used a whole chicken.  Since side dish ideas are limited, you can serve this chicken with boiled potatoes, steamed green vegetables, roasted vegetables, or quinoa. Cooking for Passover doesn’t have to be painful. When it comes to cooking for holidays, I try to keep my menu traditional but simple. If you don’t celebrate Passover, you can enjoy this recipe anytime of the year.  Wishing my Jewish friends a happy Passover! As for everyone else, I hope you enjoy the lovely Spring weather. Thank you for your readership and support. You inspire me to post and share recipes with you.  What are some of your favorite holiday recipes? What do you like least about cooking for holidays? If you don’t celebrate holidays, what are your to-go Spring recipes? All ideas are welcome so don’t be too shy to share 🙂

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 fresh whole chicken quartered and skinned
  2. 1/2 cup of honey
  3. 1/3 cup of your favorite hot sauce
  4. 1 teaspoon of garlic powder
  5. 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce  (or a Passover-friendly equivalent)
  6. 1 onion diced
  7. Ground pepper for taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place chicken and onions in a greased baking dish. Season chicken with garlic powder and ground pepper. Mix honey, hot sauce, and Worcestershire sauce together and pour over chicken. Bake covered for 45 minutes and uncovered for the last 15 minutes. Serve immediately.

Yields 4 servings

 

2 thoughts on “Sweet & Spicy Chicken

    Liz said:
    April 18, 2014 at 4:56 am

    I love sweet and spicy but it’s long since i had something sweet n spicy. The chicken looks delicious!

      challahmaidel responded:
      April 18, 2014 at 5:47 am

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy this recipe. Looking back now, I realized I left out 2 crucial ingredients; paprika and turmeric. These holidays are leaving me scatterbrained 🙂 .You can also reduce the amount of honey if you like. Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

