Summery Marinara Sauce

Posted on

summery tomato sauce

I am a hopeless romantic when is comes to tomato sauce. Ironically enough, I normally avoid buying canned tomato sauce as they have high sodium content among other unrecognizable ingredients. Instead, I make marinara sauce from crushed tomatoes or from fresh tomatoes depending on how lazy or motivated I am feeling that day. Just a couple days ago, my local supermarket had a display of yellow and orange cherry tomatoes. At that time, I bought a pound of each of them without giving much thought of what I would be doing with them. I normally tend to snack on cherry tomatoes.  For some  unexplainable reason, I had a hankering for pizza that day. Although I could have reserved these cherry tomatoes for a salad, I was overpowered by this odd sensation to make marinara sauce. It almost seemed epiphanic.  Plus I felt that yellow and orange cherry tomatoes would give this tomato sauce recipe a summery feel. It certainly brightened my pizza.  I would have used whole yellow and orange tomatoes but all I found was cherry tomatoes in those colors which was a novelty to me.  Learning how to make tomato sauce is usually not that complicated but this is not just another tomato/marinara sauce recipe.  This summery adaptation  of a marinara sauce recipe is just as easy and  hassle-free, if not more so.  It’s practically child’s play.  Rather than roasting the tomatoes or chopping them up, I let them naturally soften while stewing them in a sauce pan. The extra skin seems to give this sauce extra depth that you cannot get from a regular tomato sauce recipe. You can add a bit of chili pepper for a hint of heat if you like.   With no 2 hours of simmering required, this summery marinara sauce recipe takes only 20 minutes to make or at leat until the tomatoes have collasped into a thick and flavorful sauce. I really love this creamy summery marinar sauce over pasta, with lasagna, fettuchini, spaghetti, and stuffed shells.  It also makes a fantastic cream pizza sauce as well.  

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 2 cups of yellow cherry tomatoes stems removed
  2. 2 cups of orange cherry tomatoes removed
  3. 1 onion chopped
  4. 2 cloves of garlic minced
  5. 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  6. 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh basil
  7. 1 teaspoon of dried tarragon
  8. 1 teaspoon of oregano
  9. 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder
  10. Salt and pepper for taste

Instructions

Heat olive oil in a sauce pan. Add chopped onion and saute till transclucent.  Add garlic and saute for 2 minutes or until fragrant.  Turn stove up to medium-high level heat. Add tomatoes, herbs,  chili powder, salt, and pepper. Stir and cook tomatoes for 15-20 minutes or until a thick sauce develops. Using a hand blender or food processor, puree till smooth.

Yields 2 cups

Leave a Reply

