Red Berry Smoothie

Posted on Updated on

red berry smoothie

Berry smoothie recipes are on the top of my favorite smoothies. Smoothies basically constitute my breakfast. Sometimes I will whip up a berry smoothie protein shake after an intense workout. Smoothies have been my to-go quick breakfast for a while.  Fruit oriented smoothies usually consists of bananas and frozen berries.  This time, though, I exclusively wanted berries.  There are many thrifty ways of learning how to make a healthy breakfast using frozen berry recipes. Red berry smoothie is the only recipe that seems most feasible to me.

Smoothies are a healthy way to make most of the berry season with one glass of berry goodness.  Those who know me well can vouch for my compulsive berry noshing.  Fresh berries are a treat for me; I can’t ever have enough of them.  Aside for their amazing combination of sweet and tart flavors, berries are low in calories, high in fiber, and they contain vitamins and minerals your body needs to function normally. So think twice before complaining to me about overstocking on berries.

Until recently, I never gave much of a thought of learning how to make a healthy breakfast. I normally relied on a bowl of cereal and milk to keep me energized without reviewing the nutrition facts. Consequently, I would experience a frequent sugar crash. I didn’t entirely cut cereal out but I had to part ways with certain brands.  Until I moved overseas, I have been living off of Kashi cereal brands. Unfortunately, they are not available where I live. It was either oatmeal or smoothies and I don’t always have the patience or the time to cook oatmeal. Additionally, oatmeal has the tendency to leave me feeling bloated and I don’t wish to jumpstart my morning with a case of gastritis.

Food for thought, red berries offer a higher concentration of antioxidants than most other foods, and summertime is the prime time to indulge in these red gems. This red berry smoothie recipe is a great way of using fresh or frozen berries and creating a smoothie that not only has strong impact of flavors but is nutritious for you and easy to make.   I nearly forgot to mention that they are super filling and can keep me fueled till lunchtime.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 1 cup of frozen strawberries
  2. 1/2 cup of  frozen raspberries
  3. 1/2 cup of frozen pitted cherries
  4. 1 cup of unsweetened apple juice or milk of your choice

Instructions

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend till smooth. Serve chilled.

Yields 2-4 servings

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

