Lavash/Laffa Bread

Posted on

laffa

Lavash or Laffa bread is a traditional flat-bread served in the Middle East and can be used to make a sandwich or wrap. It’s a lightly baked bread that can be served with dips, as an appetizer or enjoyed as a healthy snack. Whenever I tire of pita, Laffa bread is always my other option.  I spread some hummus and dab it with a bit of hot sauce.  Then I layer it with various cut-up vegetables. If I have leftover turkey or chicken, I simply cut them into shreds and add it to my rolled-up sandwich (for a lack of a better term). If I’m in a mood for something sweet, I will smear some nutella or chocolate spread (not very healthy but I could think of worse). I’ve once even made a personal pizza out of these flat-breads and they were awesome. If I don’t have pizza dough on hand or don’t have the time to make one, Lavash is the next best thing.   While tortilla bread is generally made from corn flour, Laffa/Lavash is normally made from wheat flour.  I used a mixture of bread flour and whole wheat flour.  Like a tortilla wrap, you can stuff Laffa with virtually anything you want and roll it up afterwards. If you had fun with my pita recipe, I hope you’ll enjoy making Lavash bread as well.

For this recipe, you will need:

  1. 3 cups of whole wheat flour
  2. 2  1/2 cups of bread flour
  3. 1 package of yeast
  4. 2 cups of warm water
  5. 2 tablespoons of sugar
  6. 2 teaspoons of salt
  7. 4 tablespoons of olive oil
  8. 1 tablespoons of toasted sesame seeds

Instructions

Prepare the bowl. Coat the inside of a metal mixing bowl with oil, and set aside. Mix the yeast, water, and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Make the dough. Slowly add the flour 1/2 cup at a time to the yeast mixture. Add the salt and sesame seeds and knead for at 10 to 15 minutes by hand. Dough will become firm and have a stretchy consistency. Let the dough rise. Shape the dough into a ball and place in oiled bowl. Cover with a dishcloth, and let rise in a warm area for 45 minutes until dough doubles in size.  Let the dough rise. Shape the dough into a ball and place in oiled bowl. Cover with a dishcloth, and let rise in a warm area for 45 minutes until dough doubles in size. Preheat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit. Prepare baking sheet. Lightly oil a 12×15 baking sheet and set aside. Separate dough into eight equal-sized pieces. Roll each one out onto the baking sheet to resemble large strips. Create holes in the dough. Lightly puncture the surface of the dough 1/2″ apart. Bake bread for 6 to 8 minutes until top is lightly brown. Remove bread from oven and let cool on wire rack.

4 thoughts on “Lavash/Laffa Bread

    vera wang wedding shoes said:
    May 2, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    Howdy I am so happy I found your weblog, I really found you
    by error, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Nonetheless
    I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have
    book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

      challahmaidel responded:
      May 3, 2013 at 3:54 am

      Thank you very much for reading my blog and for your compliment. Its readers like you who inspire me to post recipes (unfortunately not as often as I should due to my hectic schedule. Rest assure that there will be a couple new ones at the end of this week) 🙂

    14 Must-Try Foods Middle Easterners Love said:
    December 18, 2014 at 4:53 am

    […] a tangy blend of spices that mingles with the smoky and meaty flavor, which once wrapped up in a laffa with some veggies and sauce creates a little bundle of goodness. Chicken and beef are the most […]

    Kayla said:
    May 27, 2016 at 4:40 pm

    Actually corn tortillas are made with corn (maize) flour tortillas are somewhat but not quite made the same way as lavash.

Leave a comment